Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: how long to wait  (Read 6232 times)

Offline crispy

• House Bee
how long to wait
« on: July 12, 2020, 08:34:11 am »
Hi all well the time is coming soon that i shall recieve my bees from the bee breeder , approximatly around 10 weeks give or take a week .So my question is i get my nucleus and i place them into a box so take 5 frames out replace with bee frames , firstly should i wait before i transfer them from the nuc box to the bee box ? secondly what ammount of time should i wait before i add a second super and queen excluder ,these are all newbie questions i know but thats what i am a newbie looking for advice from old hands , it seems like it has taken forever to get to this point the bee yard is ready , the hive is ready , im ready but my bees arnt yet so i am asking questions now i know i could read a book but i want to ask experienced keepers so i dont stuff up what ive waited so long to get .     

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: how long to wait
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2020, 09:22:39 am »
Place them as soon as you get them.
Add the second box when 80 to 90% of the frames are full.
Add the excluder about the third or fourth year when you are experienced. Many newbees kill their first hives with an excluder. That is a whole new chapter.
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline Garigal

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2020, 09:35:12 am »
I'd usually give them a few days to a week to settle in to their new surroundings and the stress from transporting them home etc before any transfer.

Main thing is to not let them over heat in the car and never leave a nuc in direct sun while the entrance is still closed.