Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: "Biscuit"' joined Hive Bodies  (Read 5011 times)

Offline JWChesnut

• House Bee
"Biscuit"' joined Hive Bodies
« on: March 26, 2010, 04:56:02 pm »
I am now in my third year of making hive bodies and supers using "biscuit"  joiners in lieu of Box joint laps.  Experience so far has been perfect.  I am wondering if others are using biscuits to reinforce butt joints on hive bodies? 

The main advantage is time savings and simplicity.  The full depth boxes are made with 3 biscuits at 2.5, 5 and 7.5 inch centers.  The long side is cut to full length -- 19" 7/8, and the short sides are the interior dimension.  I use large size biscuits and gorilla glue.  I add three deck screws to tighten at each corner.  There is a massive time savings in not having to cut finger joint patterns on 8 (!) ends for every box. 

I don't price out the cost of the biscuits which is moderate.

One *massive* advantage is the short sides are smaller (14 3/4), and it is possible to cut a full hive from each 6 linear feet of board.

I am sure many others have had the problem of the 72 1/2 inch runnning requirement for hives which does not cut into "modern" exact-length pine boards without waste.  Buying 8 feet to get that last half inch + kerfs is really, really, really frustrating over time.  I know you can buy 8' and 12's and make up multiple boxes in an elaborate cut list to minimize waste.  However, I only build and store a few boxes at a time.

If anyone else has long-term experience with biscuit-joined hive bodies, I would be interested in hearing about it.  Are there "exterior" grade biscuits for instance?

I haven't had weather damage or opening cracks, but I don't expect the hive bodies will be quite as sturdy as fingerjoint models. I don't transport my hives, so I suspect there is less impact as hives that are moved regularly.

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
Re: "Biscuit"' joined Hive Bodies