Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Placement of bees  (Read 5292 times)

Offline Powisden

• New Bee
Placement of bees
« on: April 01, 2014, 06:36:31 pm »
Hi, I'm hoping someone can answer this question, please. When I add my bees to my TBH which end do I add them to the hive? - will they move to the opposite end or stay where they are and build towards the other end? - and do I need to limit their space inside the hive as one website suggested for the first 24 hours?

Thank you in advance.

Offline charlie b

• House Bee
    • You Tube
Re: Placement of bees
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2014, 08:17:22 pm »
Powisden...I'm no expert but have studied TB's a lot and read a lot and watched a lot of videos...Here is how I'm going to do it...My entrances are on the side, on one end, not both and not in the middle...The bees will build on the end with the entrances....Also, some recommend that we direct release the queen and do not hang her from a top bar as they might build some messed up comb....here's a quote from Michael Bushs website...
"They hang the queen cage and get a first messed up comb because of the queen cage.They will always build the first comb from the cage and subsequent combs parallel to that one. So you have now doomed every comb in your hive to be messed up. Hanging the queen cage to “be safe”, is not “being safe”. Direct release her. Yes, they MIGHT abscond, but in my experience they will do it with or without the queen. Typically they like the one next door better and leave that one there anyway." .....http://www.bushfarms.com/beestopbarhives.htm

Offline Powisden

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2014, 04:57:08 am »
OK, thank you very much for that. Very helpful.

Offline HomeSteadDreamer

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2014, 12:34:57 pm »