Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: May have messed up - Deep Nuc to Medium Hive  (Read 1712 times)

Offline aiannar974

• New Bee
May have messed up - Deep Nuc to Medium Hive
« on: May 20, 2017, 10:14:55 pm »
http://www.centralmarylandbees.org/c...ng%20Deeps.pdf

I am totally new to beekeeping. Just started this year. Picked up a nuc 3 weeks ago. I followed the article above to try to move my nuc from a deep to a new medium hive with no comb. I followed the section for no comb. Well I just hit the 3 week mark, I am at the end of method 1 and this is what I have.

2 boxes below the queen excluder. Queen in the bottom boxes. Little to no comb drawn on plastic foundation. Queen is actively moving around with bees around her but no eggs.

2 medium boxes above the excluder with some brood left and lots of uncapped honey or sugar water mostly in deep frames and one medium frame

1 medium box at the top with a feeder that I have kept full of one to one sugar / water mixture with a little pro health in it.

Today I moved the one medium frame with uncapped honey down with the queen since it has comb on it.

What would you do next? I thought maybe I should move the deep frames down into two medium boxes since there is comb there and maybe she would lay in them.

Any help would be appreciated.

Anthony

Offline Waveeater

• House Bee
Re: May have messed up - Deep Nuc to Medium Hive
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2017, 12:32:27 am »
I'm a little confused on how you have deep frames in medium boxes. Having said that I would make sure my brood is below the excluder. It sounds like you also may not have enough bees for the amount of room you seem to have. Keep them more crowded early on while they build up. If I were going to feed make sure it is 1 to 1 so they will tend to pull more comb instead of just trying to store it all. One mistake I made when I first started was adding to many boxes to soon. Good luck.

Offline cao

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2017, 12:54:32 am »