Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Bees propolis-ing frames too much  (Read 2433 times)

Offline VermontHoneyBee

• House Bee
Bees propolis-ing frames too much
« on: July 07, 2018, 05:19:35 pm »
I am not an expert and I may be going crazy but every time I inspect my hives, I clean out any propolis built on the edges of the frames and put them back snag against each other.  Then, the next week, I inspect again and the bees have separated some of the frames, specially the ones near the edges of the boxes, and added propolis between the frames to the extent that it is almost 1/16th of an inch thick.  Then I clean it again, put it back and next week the same things.

The reason why I clean it is because if I don't, I noticed that they will build a lot of brace comb between the frames that are more separated and it makes it impossible to take the frames out without causing some comb damage or even killing some bees.

Why are my bees doing this and is there something I can do to stop them from pushing the frames apart like that?.

Thanks

Van, Arkansas, USA

Re: Bees propolis-ing frames too much
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2018, 07:29:04 pm »
Vermont: propolis has many functions, one is bee glue.  The bees will fill in any crack or crevice that otherwise would support mold or mildew or larger parasites such as beetles.  The bees know what they are doing in the hive, we don?t, so let the bees do their job.  I know, I realize the glue can be a pain but there is a far reaching purpose.  Propolis contains antibiotics, anti fungus, antimildew and other purposes we have yet to realize. 

I don?t remove propolis unless I just absolutely have to with an active hive.  I will clean frames when starting a new hive or wintered surplus frames.

Go into any health food, organic store and honeybee propolis is for sale.  Some folks eat propolis for health reasons and swear by it, personaly I do not.
Blessings

Offline VermontHoneyBee

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2018, 07:33:36 pm »