Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Sourwood honey.  (Read 4768 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Sourwood honey.
« on: June 18, 2019, 10:37:39 pm »
Any info on the sourwood bloom, which is about now.  Are conditions good, is this going to be a good year for sourwood?  I thank you for your post regarding this sourwood premium honey.
Van
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Online The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
Re: Sourwood honey.
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2019, 12:20:27 am »
I?m sitting over here on the edge of my seat, Van!!  It?s my first real honey harvest this year and all my sourwood trees are starting to put out their flower structures. No proper buds yet, but very soon. I?ve got a brand new shallow super on my strongest hive ready to go. The sourwood harvest was very weak last year; the trees didn?t flower well and the harvest was pretty rained out. I so hope it?ll be a good year this year.  I?m so excited!!  :grin:
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2019, 07:18:58 am »
I?m sitting over here on the edge of my seat, Van!!  It?s my first real honey harvest this year and all my sourwood trees are starting to put out their flower structures. No proper buds yet, but very soon. I?ve got a brand new shallow super on my strongest hive ready to go. The sourwood harvest was very weak last year; the trees didn?t flower well and the harvest was pretty rained out. I so hope it?ll be a good year this year.  I?m so excited!!  :grin: