Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Inspection, split check, find and mark queen  (Read 1800 times)

djgriggs

Inspection, split check, find and mark queen
« on: June 02, 2018, 12:24:55 am »
Okay .. I installed my bees on April 29th 2018.   Here is where I am at today..

Now that it is going into June I have feel that I have made some progress. I want to tell you what I have done and where I am at then get your thoughts and opinions.

Today I had a neighboring beek to come by and help me locate and mark the queens after my splits due to thinking that I might have messed something up.

I had two very strong Hives one foundation-less, 2 10-frame deeps full of bees and one that was foundation and also 10-frame and 2 deep.
After inspection the other week we found queen cells and swarm cells in both Hives. I was told that now was a good time for a split if I wanted to do so .

I chose to do the splits.. ( Total Noob ) not knowing what I was doing I took what hive I had which was an 8-frame 2 deep cypress hive.
I took one box , put 3 frames into the box from the foundation-less hive ( this was a week later ) Odd thing about this at this time I could not find the queen cell that I had seen a week before . .Oh well still went through with it.

I chose the 2nd 8-frame deep for 3 frames out of the foundation hive, this time the frame with the queen cell was moved over..

Fast forward to today , a week later.

We , Glenn and I wanted to go through and mark the queen ( really i wanted to , I just can never find her ) anyway started with the foundation-less hive. No problem, found her right off and marked her. Did however see a some bees uncapping , capped cells and removing larva, apparently we seen some larva that was removed that contained Varroa ( R@#$## ).