Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New hive mite check  (Read 4627 times)

Offline Bobbee

• New Bee
New hive mite check
« on: July 07, 2020, 03:17:56 pm »
When I first got my nucs the breeder guaranteed they were "Clean as a whistle" for varroa. Assuming (I hate using that word) he was right how often should I be inspecting the hive? Also being a newly started colony I am thinking a sugar roll rather than an alc kill test. My main concern at this point is with going into the hive too often and getting in the bees way.

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
Re: New hive mite check
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2020, 03:26:56 pm »
As a beginner I'd inspect hives weekly.  I think that is often enough that you'll catch most of what's happening in there, but not so much that you'll disturb them unnecessarily.  I also do sugar rolls instead of alcohol washes, since I don't like killing bees if I don't have to.  Sugar rolls are slightly less accurate, so what I do (on the recommendation of one of our other members here) is multiply the number of mites in the sugar roll by 1.3 to help compensate.  I do sugar rolls usually at the beginning of the season, early summer, late summer before treatments, after treatments, and before winter.       
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2020, 05:46:47 pm »
Sticky boards probably give a better indication than other methods and are also the least impacting on the hive.   Just shove them in the entrance and come back in 24hr and see the drop rate.   If it gives you peace of mind you could do it once a month or even more often if you want.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison