Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Smart Hive for Beekeepers _ General Questions  (Read 1761 times)

Offline Ryan_Research

• Brood
Smart Hive for Beekeepers _ General Questions
« on: November 02, 2020, 12:10:57 am »
Hi,

I am a graduate student at Purdue University. I am interested in working with beekeepers, especially hobbyists and part-time beekeepers, to develop a smart, multisensory beehive that uses various types of data (e.g., video, audio, temperature, weight, and so on) to estimate the state of a bee colony and help them monitor their hives continuously. It would be very helpful if you can share your experience by answering the following questions:

1- How would you describe your experience with the beehive you are currently using?

a. Likes: What are some of the things, if any, you LIKE about your beehive?
b. Dislikes: What are some of the things, if any, you DISLIKE about the beehive?
c. Improvements: Anything you think should be improved?

2- Imagine if you were the designer of this intelligent beehive:

a. What will you include in it to better assist you with the beekeeping practice?
b. What do you want to monitor, and what data is helpful?

Thank You in Advance!

Offline TheHoneyPump

• Queen Bee
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
Smart Hive for Beekeepers _ General Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2020, 02:51:43 am »
Some established systems to look at as place to start for research and reference of what is already out there:

Www.broodminder.com

Www.beecounted.org

www.mellisphera.com

www.arnia.co.uk

americanbeejournal.com/events/fourth-international-bee-and-hive-monitoring-conference-goes-virtual/

Youtube, the conference presentations are slow to being uploaded, though are progressing:  search for keywords -

FOURTH 4th INTERNATIONAL BEE AND HIVE MONITORING CONFERENCE 
« Last Edit: November 02, 2020, 02:08:04 pm by TheHoneyPump »
When the lid goes back on, the bees will spend the next 3 days undoing most of what the beekeeper just did to them.