Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: What Are People Using To Melt Large Quantities of Beeswax For Candles?  (Read 3515 times)

Offline JackInCT

• New Bee
Hi,
First, I'm a home user hobbyist candle maker.  I use a double boiler (a pour pot set inside a pot full of water) set up to melt the wax.  I would like to speed up the process as well as melt larger quantities of wax.  All I've been able to find via a web search is converting a consumer electric pot (with a thermostat) to melting wax by the insertion (via the drilling of a hole in its side) of a spigot that you would find at a home improvement center plumbing dept.   That would work of course, but, via this post, I'm wondering if there are more "elegant" solutions being used short of going the route of a commercial wax melter.  Thanks Jack

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
Re: What Are People Using To Melt Large Quantities of Beeswax For Candles?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2010, 06:15:47 pm »
I use a turkey fryer type propane burner with a large pot set inside a HUGE pot to set up a double boiler system. I've actually been dipping tapers this week for Christmas gifts with it. You need to be very careful with the water (even the steam) as any moisture at all on the wick will cause the candle to crackle and sputter when burned. I might do a short video this weekend.

Scott