Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: dead bees/mould/winter  (Read 7268 times)

Offline Johnstring

• Brood
dead bees/mould/winter
« on: February 20, 2010, 01:43:52 pm »
hi i was going to treat for viroa with oxalic azid but havnt as its been very cold.its my first year keeping bees.i didnt take last years honey off as to keep the bees well fed.my concern is thier seems to be a lot of bees on the floor at the entrance which prompted me to take a look inside.i know its been cold so i didnt do a full inspection just took the seperater board off.the bees were still alive mostly all in the bottom brood box and the odd one up in the super feeding (plenty of honey still left).the colony has shrunk (is this normal)also thier were a few dead bees in the hive.also the hive had mould inside not really on the frames but where the joints were looked like mildew type mould and was on some of the dead bees that were near the hive joints.is this normal and do the other bees remove the dead bees.i havent seen any trace of viroa on the board underneath the hive and is it getting too late to treat with oxalic azid.
my location
sheffield
yorkshire
uk
kind regards
ps excuse my gramar lol

Online Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: dead bees/mould/winter
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 02:00:20 pm »
it's normal.  the bees will clean up most of it as they increase in numbers and become more active.  you will probably want to clean off the bottom board when the weather is warmer.

you can help us answer your questions if you will go into your profile and add your location.  i know i won't remember and you don't want to have to remind us every time  :-)
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline Johnstring

• Brood
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2010, 03:19:17 pm »
thanks kathy i feel a bit more relieved now.
ps ill go to my profile now
thanks again

Offline Somerford

• House Bee