Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: What does a deep frame of capped honey weigh?  (Read 9866 times)

Offline paus

• Field Bee
What does a deep frame of capped honey weigh?
« on: June 14, 2019, 04:26:06 pm »
Probably an old  topic but new to me.  What does a deep frame with fully capped honey, weigh? I weighed one that weighed 11 pounds + an ounce or two, I have seen frames I think were more uniformly filled out that would weigh more but this is the first one I ever weighed.  Extrapolating this would make a ten frame weigh about 120 pounds.  That is way more than an old codger should lift so that is why I removed the frames one at a time, which is no big deal since I am a hobbyist now.  Is this the norm?

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: What does a deep frame of capped honey weigh?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2019, 04:59:43 pm »
Paus,
I normally run mediums but at last months Nassau meeting, we extract 2 deep frames and got 20 pounds. So 10 pounds per frame sounds correct.
Jim Altmiller
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2019, 06:13:59 pm »
What kind of honey are you people getting?  A medium averages 3 lb. per frame of honey, or 10 quarts per super. A deep is only 50% more than a medium, or 4 1/2 to 5 lbs. of honey. I have never extracted a deep that wouldn't go in a 5 gallon bucket.
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline TheHoneyPump

• Queen Bee
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2019, 10:01:33 pm »
Generally speaking .... as we run the frames to 3/4 full - never completely packed and capped.
CPnC = lost production. Approximates: