Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: News from Down Under  (Read 15114 times)

Offline max2

• Queen Bee
News from Down Under
« on: August 31, 2022, 07:01:14 pm »
Greetings Beekeepers.

Welcome to Spring in Australia 1. September 2022

You will notice a new heading " News from Down Under" which has been approved, indeed supported by our moderators.

While I will try to cover some Bee News from Australia, I will mainly focus on bee related activities from Queensland - the state in Australia where I live and keep bees.
I will continue to submit news to the " Varroa" heading and the " What's flowering in Qld" heading.

I have kept bees for about 46 years.
We are small beekeepers who love our bees and most of the activities associated with bees.
I'm no expert!

This heading will only be interesting if many other beekeepers from Australia ( and indeed Overseas) are contributing.

A new start with Spring!!

With my best wishes
max

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
Re: News from Down Under
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2022, 04:19:11 pm »
Hey that is great Max.  I will be looking forward to the post.
Brian Cardinal
Just do it

Offline max2

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2022, 07:13:18 pm »
A rainy day...
Bees were superbusy yesterday and you can feel Spring is in the air.

September is an important month for us here in the Sub tropics.

I have been busy putting foundation into frames.For each nuc I sell I need 5 frames.

I have plenty of nuc boxes ready. And SHB traps too.

I put a drop or three of Lemon Grass Oil into each box. The bees seem to like it. More is not better.

If you have not done your brood check - now is the tiem.

As I went through the brood I also marked the queens - Yellow is the colour for this year.

I number each nuc so that I can keep track of them easily.