Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 10 Frame TO 9  (Read 2718 times)

Offline Stung

• New Bee
10 Frame TO 9
« on: July 21, 2013, 10:24:04 am »
I also wanted to know what is the benefits to going from 10 to 9 frames. Can it be done with 10 frames on two bottom deeps and then put 9 in the medium super.  I was told that if I do it, I have to start with 9 frames from the bottom up.  Is this true, or can I ten in the deep supers and 9 in the honey supers

Moots

Re: 10 Frame TO 9
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 10:41:25 am »
Stung,
I'm new to the world of Beek, this is my first year and I'm running 8 frame medium boxes top to bottom and haven't yet considered going to 7 frames instead of 8 in any of my boxes.  That being said, my understanding for running 9 instead of 10 frames in your honey supers is so that they will build out the comb thicker.  I think the theory is it'll hold more honey and is easier to uncap.  I think running 10 frames in your brood boxes is irrelevent to going 9 up above...As a matter of fact, I got the impression that's what most people do that go with this approach.

Sure others with actual experience that have done this will jump in....

Good Luck!  :)

Offline Vance G

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 10:51:49 am »
No advantage to running 9 frames in brood boxes that I know of.  I like to run 10 and I have about half of my brood boxes with 11 frames shaved to fit.  I think 10 and a follower board to ease getting the first frame out would be about perfect for me.  9 in supers after the frames are drawn is absolutely the way to go.  8 in the super means you have an awful lot of cappings and honey to deal with.  If you are OK with that, seven works too.  Unless you have frames that hang low enough to leave no bee space between boxes, the number is insignificant to the bees.

Offline Joe D

• Super Bee
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 11:29:24 am »