Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: swarm traps  (Read 1431 times)

Offline tincan

• House Bee
swarm traps
« on: June 04, 2012, 11:09:43 am »
can I use ten frame deep for swarm trap and what is all involved in doing this location ,bait,  scent, timing , have a few small creeks around running through farm fields but Im 48 years old and have never seem swarm so maybe not alot of them or just not in right place right time ,do have wild  hives in trees, walls in area.  Im in wisconsin thanks for all your help

Offline cinch123

• New Bee
Re: swarm traps
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2012, 11:35:15 am »
Not that I'm a veteran but I will tell you what has worked for me this year... A ten frame deep is a good size for a trap according to Seeley's Honeybee Democracy. I have put out three swarm traps and two of them have been occupied. All three were placed in shaded locations six to ten feet up the sides of trees. They were placed back in April but the most recent swarm set up shop this past Friday, so swarm season isn't over in Ohio and probably not in Wisconsin either. For bait lots of people say lemongrass oil, but both of my successful traps have had a chunk of old nasty brood comb from a cutout in the box. I'm a beginner beekeeper this year - started in April with two packages, and have so far caught three swarms. Swarms are wildly interesting - I just need to keep up with building equipment to house them.

Offline vmmartin

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2012, 11:52:47 am »