Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Introducing a queen to a hive with queen cells  (Read 1581 times)

Offline Fishing-Nut

• House Bee
Introducing a queen to a hive with queen cells
« on: April 13, 2020, 09:39:31 pm »
I released a queen into a queenless hive a couple days ago and shes doing fine. The hive has a few queen cells. What will happen...
Take a kid fishing !

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Introducing a queen to a hive with queen cells
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2020, 10:44:51 pm »
Fish, just last week, I did the same, sorta : released a mature queen in a hive with queen cells.  I direct released a mature queen and as expected the queen was accepted and queen cells torn down.  Understand, this was a one year old mature queen.  A virgin queen or newly mated queen would be different according to Brother Adam.  I was repeating, a second time, a technique that Brother Adam developed.
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline TheHoneyPump

• Queen Bee
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
Introducing a queen to a hive with queen cells
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2020, 01:13:29 am »
If the queen is laying she MAY be fine.  Check back every 5 to 7 days and destroy any and all queen cells.  It may take up to 3 weeks for the bees to stop drawing cells, if they havent killed her by then.  After that if they are still drawing cells then must realize that They do not like her and never will.  She has to be deemed defective at that point.  Pull her and put somewhere else or simply kill her.  Give the hive a new one or let them raise their own.
When the lid goes back on, the bees will spend the next 3 days undoing most of what the beekeeper just did to them.

Offline sc-bee

• Super Bee