Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from Kingman AZ  (Read 2177 times)

Offline Tom in Kingman AZ

• New Bee
Greetings from Kingman AZ
« on: September 04, 2016, 03:12:17 am »
Hi,
          My name is Tom, I'm a retired long haul trucker living about 18 miles east of Kingman AZ just off old Route 66. I have a really big garden and had to raise a ton of compost worms in order to get the soil to co-operate. Now I notice the distinct lack of pollinators. Therefore I am exploring the possibility of raising some of my own. They seem to be a good deal since they will be the only livestock I can think of that feed themselves AND give a service (pollinate) and a food source (honey). I am doing tons of research before I do anything. There is a fella about 35 miles to the west (Golden Valley if you know the area) that will help me get set up for what I think is NOT a lot of money. (Turnkey for $200). Right now I buy honey from him but the way things are looking 35 miles might as well be a million not to mention I still need pollinators. A friend of mine has an old Top Bar on his property but pays it no never mind. Until I know more I will NOT approach it. I do LIKE the idea of a Top Bar but I'm still a Newbie Beek so time will tell. I am also represented on the other forum (Beesource ) so as to get as much knowledge as possible. Thank you.
Tom in Kingman AZ
NRA Member
US PARATROOPER '64-'66

Offline divemaster1963

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Queen Bee
  • God Protect and watch over our sons and daughters.
Re: Greetings from Kingman AZ
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2016, 12:51:00 pm »