Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: non treated/over wintered bees  (Read 5229 times)

Offline beesNme

• House Bee
non treated/over wintered bees
« on: January 05, 2015, 04:22:52 pm »
This will be my 2nd season with bees , i want to up my hives this year and came across a local maine company that sells  untreated over wintered bees,  they are from  georgia and tenn,  um  how will that help in maine ?  I am new to bee keeping but  was wondering if there is a red flag here or not

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: non treated/over wintered bees
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2015, 09:20:58 am »
You get what you can.  If you can get local bees, I would.  If you can get northern bees I would.  If you can get treatment free bees, I would.   If you can't, I'd take what I can get.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2015, 09:30:02 am »
I agree with Michael, get what you can.   I would not overlook the value of acclimatized bees.  "treatment"  is a broad spanning word.   There are many levels of treatment, some of which are very harsh,  some are not.   Even if your goal is treatment-free,  you can work towards that goal using non-synethic and IPM solutions.   It is much more of a crap shoot trying to get southern bees through the 1st winter.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline beesNme

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2015, 11:55:09 am »