Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Mite treatment, apivar question?  (Read 1432 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Mite treatment, apivar question?
« on: June 11, 2021, 10:52:53 pm »
I have never used apivar so I am looking for advice here...  I always used oxalic acid for mite control but medical conditions require a change on my part.

Question:  how many strips for a langstrof, typical 10 frame double deep do you use and find positive results?

Reason I ask is youtube has many videos in which the beek only uses 2 strips regardless of brood frame count.

Instructions note: one strip per 5 brood frames, up to max 4 strips per hive.  Use only After the honey extraction, use latex/nitrile gloves, space at least 2 frames apart, etc.

Ok, Apivar users, I need some input.  Thank you.
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline TheHoneyPump

• Queen Bee
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
Mite treatment, apivar question?
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2021, 11:45:05 am »
Apply based on size of the population. 1 strip per 5 frames of BEES.  Place the strip(s) in the middle of the cluster where the nurse bees are working. ApiVar is a contact treatment. The bees have to walk on and rub on the strips for it to work. The position of the bees may be offset in the box(es) depending on where the nest is. When the lid is lifted or boxes split or hive is tipped, the beekeeper can determine where that is, and that is where to place the strips.