Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Syrup question  (Read 1628 times)

Offline Nock

• Field Bee
Syrup question
« on: April 25, 2019, 08:03:41 pm »
Can you make it in advance and keep it in fridge? Or is best to just make as you need it?

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Syrup question
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2019, 08:33:42 pm »
I say either is OK. I am interpreting stored in the frig as months, not years.  The more sugar, the less of a chance of mold.

Maple syrup stored in my frig last a long time, like over a year.  Karo syrup, yuckie corn syrup last over a year.  Just so you know, do not feed corn syrup to bees.  I was just making a point of longevity, not endorsing.
Cheers
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Nock

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2019, 09:34:23 pm »
Yeah I?m thinking like a gallon or so. For a week.

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2019, 10:16:55 pm »
That will not bee a problem. I keep the excess in the fridge for longer than that.
Jim Altmiller
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2019, 11:36:18 pm »
Do you need to store syrup in the fridge? I have some 2:1 left over from last fall that?s been in my unheated garage all winter, but now that it?s warming up should I put it in the fridge?
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline Oldbeavo

• Queen Bee
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2019, 11:43:45 pm »