Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from Minnesota  (Read 1992 times)

Offline Flyzone13

• New Bee
Greetings from Minnesota
« on: November 30, 2016, 09:28:49 am »
I have been interested, but have not taken any steps to start beekeeping until now.  I enjoy the outdoors and all the good that can come from being a part of it, as well as preserving what we still have left.  I have been producing maple syrup for 7 years now and also like to get out in the spring and summer to forage mushrooms.  Now with winter among us, I thought now would be the appropriate time to start planning and building my hive.  Since I am so green to beekeeping I am struggling to choose what type of hive to build.  I am planning on building everything I can from scratch, with materials I can get for little to nothing or use what I already have.  This site has a lot of info and its a little over whelming to start, but I look forward to picking up as much info I can over the winter before I start my hive this spring.

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: Greetings from Minnesota
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2016, 09:36:35 am »
Welcome..................

Many opinions here, but I will start with mine.

Two hives minimum to start, each consisting of two deep and one medium 10 frame Langstroth. Set up with one deep and add as they grow. It will be easier to get help with that setup and easier to get rid of if you decide beekeeping isn't for you or you want to go a different route.
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline Dallasbeek

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2016, 12:18:01 pm »
Welcome.