Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from Saipan!  (Read 2574 times)

Offline Vic. Cabrera

• New Bee
Hello from Saipan!
« on: November 27, 2016, 09:51:32 am »
Greetings and thank you for having me in this forum.  I am a middle school teacher, part time farmer, and novice bee keeper.  Looking forward to sharing and gaining more knowledge on the topic of bee keeping.  I live on the island of Saipan, out in the Pacific.  Our average temperature daily is about 88 degrees Fahrenheit all year long.  We have two seasons here.....dry and wet.  In both seasons our bees seem to be doing well.  Hoping to learn more about bees and their possible diseases.  My understanding is that we don't have Veroa mites or AFB or EFB here on our islands and if that is true, I'd like to learn more about how to prevent that from ever coming to our islands.
Middle School Teacher, Farmer, and Bee Keeper.

Offline herbhome

• Field Bee
Re: Hello from Saipan!
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2016, 04:06:27 pm »
I can't offer any advice for your climate but I do want to welcome you.
Neill

Offline Maggiesdad

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2016, 05:27:52 pm »
Howdy!

Online BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2016, 10:49:32 pm »
Vic,
Welcome to Beemaster
If you don't want to have to deal with those problems, get your government to prevent bees from being imported to your island. Then they also need to keep a close watch your ports to make sure you do not get hitch hikers from coming in on cargo.
Jim
« Last Edit: November 28, 2016, 12:14:40 pm by sawdstmakr »
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline Rurification

• Field Bee
    • Rurification
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2016, 08:32:17 am »
Welcome to the forum!
Robin Edmundson
www.rurification.com

Beekeeping since 2012

Offline Vic. Cabrera

• New Bee
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2016, 06:29:24 am »