Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Storing equipment in truck box  (Read 2536 times)

Offline CrazyTalk

• House Bee
Storing equipment in truck box
« on: May 09, 2016, 11:00:10 am »
I'm new to bee keeping this year - and new to a lot of farmy stuff over the last couple years. I'm looking at tool boxes for my farm truck, and was really set on one of the nice looking matte black powder coated ones over the chromed aluminum ones - more inconspicuous.

My plan was to keep the trailer hitch, ratchet straps, all the usual truck stuff in there, and then probably an extra veil, tool, smoker, and a deep box for catching swarms. Does anyone else store this sort of stuff in a truck box? I'm a bit worried that its going to get too hot and turn any frames in the deep into a pool of wax. Anyone have any experience?

Offline Jim134

• Galactic Bee
    • Franklin County Beekeepers Association
Re: Storing equipment in truck box
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 09:51:14 am »
Questions similar to this. It would sure be nice if you put your location in. You can do this permanently by putting it under your avatar or name to the left you can find it in settings. In some parts of the USA this would be no problem in the summertime. In other parts it would be a big concern.

BEE HAPPY Jim 134. :)
"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb

"The farmer is the only man in our economy who buys everything at retail, sells everything at wholesale, and pays the freight both ways."
 John F. Kennedy
Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA. http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/

Offline Dallasbeek

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2016, 10:55:41 am »
No matter where you are, that black box is going to be hot inside.  Leave the foundation out for sure.  But I echo Jim's advice about location.  If you're on a phone you may not be able to edit your profile.  Get on a computer and edit it, in that case.