Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: starter strips at bottom?  (Read 4313 times)

Offline rookie2531

• Field Bee
starter strips at bottom?
« on: August 31, 2014, 10:26:49 am »
I had to make my own frames yesterday because my local guy left for holiday weekend. I want to checkerboard a box so they don't swarm. I have made them to the langstroth specs on beesource. I am going to brad nail the strip that I cut out the top, but do I have to put a strip in the groove that is in the bottom bar? I did drill holes in the sides and I'm going to string it with fishing line. They are mediums. This is my first time going foundationless. All the frames in my hives are foundation started and drawn now.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 12:20:11 pm by rookie2531 »

Offline Better.to.Bee.than.not

• Field Bee
Re: starter strips at bottom?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2014, 08:52:53 am »
no, you do not need a strip in the bottom. The bees will drawn the comb out to the bottom as they see fit. you're ok, with everything else, just don;t use like 8 lb or 10 lb line, the bees might eat through it. most use like 17-30 lb. if they do not use wire.

Offline deknow

• Field Bee
    • Golden Rule Honey, LLC
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2014, 09:53:52 am »
Unless the full combs are full of emerging brood and there are lots of bees, it can really set things back to do as you are proposing.

Checkerboarding is something very specific (read Walt wright's methods of nectar management)....it involves the honey frames above the broodnest...not the broodnest.

It is possible that what you plan wil
S
l work fine...but I would not recommend it ad there is so much that can go wrong with a MAJOR manipulation such as this .

Offline hjon71

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2014, 10:38:49 am »