Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Recommended TBH type for newbie with back issues  (Read 2918 times)

Offline Steampunked

• New Bee
Recommended TBH type for newbie with back issues
« on: April 28, 2015, 02:08:25 am »
Hello folks.

As people can see from my lack of presence, I'm new to the whole bee keeping thing - please forgive the misspellings and mistakes.  I've done an offline course in Langstroth keeping and read a large number of books, however I have a couple of questions before I look at acquiring my hives over winter and installing the packages in the spring.

Top Bar Hives attract me because they seem faster to build than the other types - and any hive I get has to be hand made due to costs.  I also found a full Langstroth super very, very hard to hold up.  We have a workshop here, left over wood, and supplies, but we don't have ready cash.  Both I and my partner can use a router and create cabinetry so hives seem to be reasonable by comparison.

However, both I and my partner also have back issues - I'm around 5'2" and have a bad back because pregnancy is evil.  The most detailed plans I can find are for Warre hives, but I have no idea how on earth I'd lift a full two supers to nadir them - I can just about manage my 20 kilo kid, but unless it's a bad day, she's not stinging me.

Can you lift one super at a time with a warre hive, or is that not recommended?

Given that I have woodworking skills, what would be the best sort of hive for someone short with a bad back?  I'm fairly strong, but if I 'push' it I get locked into place and can't move myself, which sounds not great if I've just dropped a lot of now-angry bees due to said bad back.
Kept by a tiny miniature suburban farm by chickens, parrots, a wallaby, a 3.5 year old and my partner.

Offline little john

• Super Bee
Re: Recommended TBH type for newbie with back issues
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 04:37:00 am »
A bad back with woodworking skills suggests to me: