Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Cutout queen troubles  (Read 4430 times)

Offline drjeseuss

• House Bee
  • The bees know better...
Cutout queen troubles
« on: May 19, 2014, 03:13:19 am »
I'm new to bee keeping and recently got to collect my first colony during a cut out from a friend's house. The cutout went well but we never found the queen. Once home I placed the hive, along with cutout frames hoping the queen was there but missed . I had several buckets of comb we removed. One had a lot of pollen and many bees seemed interested in this piece so I tucked it under the hive for a close snack while they got back on their feet . A week later I checked on them and found a few emergency cells. I guessed the queen didn't make the trip so they were replacing her. Good enough.  Another week later I was replacing the bottom board with a screened board to help with condensation. While moving things I noticed there was still a clump of bees on the pollen comb below the hive. They were all huddled and didn't move when smoked. I nudged them a bit and the queen was there ! In my surprise, excitement, and panic I put her into the hive where she quickly moved down onto brood comb. I tried to find her within a few minutes but didn't so I closed the hive up to let things settle down as the guards were getting nasty. In hind sight, I think this was all bad. If she was living on a piece of comb (inches below the entrance) would she have still been the hive's  queen, or now seen as a rival queen? Would her old queenless hive allow her back or more likely kill her. In hindsight I would have caged her but done is done. Do you think she would destroy the emergency cells? I'm hoping I haven't set off events that will doom them all. Anything I could do at this stage to ensure I don't end up queenless? This is my only hive so no way to produce a queen for them, and I wouldn't want too as these are thriving locally and are very docile.