Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Burr comb question  (Read 1907 times)

Offline BeeMarie

• Brood
Burr comb question
« on: June 10, 2021, 02:47:01 pm »
Hi!
Ive been keeping bee's for about two years now. Recently I've been away from my hives due to medical reasons. A friend ( who's been beekeeping longer) inspect the hive for me and there was some burr comb on the inner cover which they removed. They didn't notice the comb had some brood larva in it. Will disturbing this comb effect the hive?

Online Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
Re: Burr comb question
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2021, 03:15:45 pm »
Hi!
Ive been keeping bee's for about two years now. Recently I've been away from my hives due to medical reasons. A friend ( who's been beekeeping longer) inspect the hive for me and there was some burr comb on the inner cover which they removed. They didn't notice the comb had some brood larva in it. Will disturbing this comb effect the hive?

Hi BeeMarie, Welcome to Beemaster. Removing Burr comb should not affect the health of your hive unless your queen was on this burr comb and removed with it.  In that case the bees will have to develop a new one provided you had eggs or larva two days of age or less. Larva of one day or less would be even better because it will take the bees a minute to realize they had lost the queen, but two days should be fine. The chances are all is well! PS hope your health has improved and is improving!
2 Chronicles 7:14
14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

Offline BeeMarie

• Brood
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2021, 03:26:49 pm »
Thank You!

Offline Oldbeavo

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2021, 05:19:50 pm »
If the bees put burr comb in the lid or inner cover it was because they wanted more room or they saw it as spare space.