Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: two bee varieties, two hives -- how close?  (Read 1932 times)

Offline Beepah

• New Bee
two bee varieties, two hives -- how close?
« on: November 14, 2017, 07:05:22 pm »
Hi,
Total and complete newbee here planning on my first two hives in the spring. (Everything in my plan is up for debate/comment; please feel free to speak up if you think I'm headed toward the reef.)  I will be purchasing unassembled woodenware and keep busy building while there is snow outside.  "Bee school" sessions are in January and February.  I'm thinking one nuc and one package so I get a little experience with each. 

I'm planning on locating my hives about a foot or so apart.  Q: Do I need to have the same species (or is it sub-species?) of bees in both hives?  For example, can I have a Carniolan and an Italian next to each other, or do they need to be 80' apart (picked that number because that's the furthest I can get them apart)?  My thought was to give myself the opportunity to compare species characteristics up close and personal.  On the other hand though, I don't want to create chaos and learn nothing. 

Thanks for your thoughts, and don't feel bad pointing me at threads that have already discussed this question to death.  When you're new, it is sometimes hard to choose the right keywords for a search to get to the best threads.

Van, Arkansas, USA

Re: two bee varieties, two hives -- how close?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 08:19:08 pm »