Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello From Central Florida  (Read 1938 times)

Offline Astrocycler

• New Bee
Hello From Central Florida
« on: December 27, 2009, 02:50:27 pm »
Good Afternoon,

I am new to beekeeping... don't even have bees yet.  Working hard to learn... Santa brought me a beekeeping book and have attended a course at our county extension service.  Seems like more people need to save the bees by enhancing the gene pool and population.  Heck, I have not seen a honey bee in my yard for years... need to fix that.  These critters are incredibly interesting.  My wife is interested also... that's good news.  One of the grandbrats is also interested.

We live in unincorporated Volusia County in central Florida about halfway between Orlando and Daytona Beach.  We live on 3 acres of mostly untouched land so I think the bees will love it... lots of food including our garden and a lot of palmetto, which I understand makes great honey.

My other interests include astronomy, bicycling (road), gardening, cooking and most outdoor activities.

I am looking forward to learning from everyone and having a robust healthy hive.

Happy New Year,

Ed
I know it is going to be a good day when I get up in the morning look back in the bed and I am not in it!

The best part of having grandbrats is I now have people my own age to play with.

Offline fermentedhiker

• Field Bee
Re: Hello From Central Florida
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2009, 06:06:33 pm »
Welcome to the forum.
Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.
--Douglas Adams

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2009, 07:30:33 pm »