Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Building hives from scratch!  (Read 10375 times)

Offline afton

• New Bee
Building hives from scratch!
« on: March 05, 2009, 02:12:58 am »
I am a total newbie at bee keeping but I am very excited and dedicated to the task.
I was given 12 hives, but my mentor recommended them being burned (since then i have learned of scorching). I am needing to use 3/4'' wood for the building but I am having problem finding it. I dont think I can use any plywood because of the lifespan and the impact of the glue on the bees. I have been reading the "Bees and Bee Keeping" by Eva Crane, it reccomends many types of wood including cedar ($$!!).

Has anyone ever built their own? Any advice?
Thank you
E
For the love of Bees!

Offline RayMarler

• Field Bee
Re: Building hives from scratch!
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 04:53:48 am »
any 1x lumber is 3/4 thick. If you would like to use all medium depth boxes for your bees, they can be built out of 1x8 white board/pine from Lowes or Home Depot. I recommend you read some of the sections in Michael Bush's website before getting any equipment, he has great discussions on what you should be thinking about before buying any equipment.

http://www.bushfarms.com/bees.htm

Offline RayMarler

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2009, 04:57:25 am »
here is the specific page on MB's website with discussion on new beekeeper decissions to make before buying equipment or bees.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesnewbees.htm

Enjoy the new hobby, it's the most rewarding hobby I've ever had myself, and hope it is for you as well.

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2009, 09:05:27 am »
I buy local rough cut pine to make all my equipment.  If you have to buy lumber from a Lowe's or Home Depot, chances are you can buy pre-made equipment cheaper.

http://robo.bushkillfarms.com/building-honey-supers/