Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Apiguard situation help please  (Read 2004 times)

Offline wittonwoods

• New Bee
Apiguard situation help please
« on: September 26, 2017, 07:54:17 pm »
I am complete novice and inherited a nuc at short notice from a few months ago. Bought a hive and not done much with it but bees seem to be doing ok.

I have 2 brood supers covered by a Queen Excluder covered by a board with a hole in it and the crown on top.

I want to treat the hive for Varroa. I was going to situate in under the Crown as the bees can get up there. The instructions on the Apiguard suggest that it should be place directly on the brood box and then create some space above by installing another empty super.

Would I be ok to do as I intended anyway?

Thanks

Offline Psparr

• Field Bee
Re: Apiguard situation help please
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 09:08:56 pm »
I would first figure out wether you need to treat, then if it is indicated, treat as directed.

Offline wittonwoods

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2017, 04:28:22 am »
Ok thanks.
I was only planning to treat because someone I know who keeps bees received a text alert for Varroa from the County bee association and I was just going to treat as a belt and braces approach. I would know evidence of varroa if I saw it at the moment.

Offline little john

• Super Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2017, 02:08:51 pm »
I have 2 brood supers covered by a Queen Excluder covered by a board with a hole in it and the crown on top. I want to treat the hive for Varroa. I was going to situate in under the Crown as the bees can get up there.

Something doesn't quite 'compute' about this set-up.  I'm assuming you're using standard National kit ? (please correct me if not)

"2 brood supers" ... are you then using 2 x 150mm Shallow National boxes (often called 'Supers') instead of a standard 225mm Deep National box (which are often simply called 'Brood Boxes') ?