Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Feeding Mistake  (Read 1437 times)

Offline Captain776

• House Bee
  • Captain
Feeding Mistake
« on: July 05, 2017, 09:45:11 am »
I do a lot of reading almost every day to continue to learn as much as I can, but I think I have been making a feeding mistake for the last 3 months.
I started feeding sugar n water early April when I brought the first NUC home and only planned to feed them for the first week while they were getting acclimated but they were drinking a small plastic frame feeder a day, so I assumed if they were drinking it, they needed it.
They are getting the benefit of the sugar and it saved a lot of bees from having to forage for water.
The reason I was reading today, is I am not seeing capped honey but lots of what I thought was uncapped nectar.
From today's reading, I think I am looking at a lot stored sugar n water and some of it must be nectar by default.
Also from today's reading, they will cap off sugar and water, the same as honey.
I am not reading others peoples opinions on Bolgs for this item it was professors, Entemology research topics, and from government agencies.
I plan to stop feeding all together.
There is more than ample water very close by and varying degrees of nectar and pollen, something is always in bloom here.
When the "free meal" stops, eventually I hope it inspires the girls to consume the stored sugar water.

Your thoughts?

Bruce
Bought my first NUC April 7, 2016.
Like all you when you first started, I am fascinated with beginning Beekeeping and trying to learn all I can.
I retired May 2015 and have added this to my short list of hobbies.

Offline Aroc

• House Bee
Re: Feeding Mistake
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2017, 10:16:39 am »
Your area might be different but it's usually recommended to feed your bees their first year to get established.  Most beeks generally do not get honey on a first year hive. 

Undoubtedly you are seeing stored and capped sugar water and nectar.