Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Stands for hives  (Read 3188 times)

Offline Pam G

• New Bee
Stands for hives
« on: April 12, 2014, 11:33:55 am »
I am brand new to beekeeping, bought one hive, am making another.  My bee package will not arrive for a few more weeks.  I have looked at the pics of others bee yards and noticed that they are placed flat and level.

In my yard that will be a problem since it is going to be in a  sloping meadow.  Hubby's suggestion is to set up a permanent yard, with posts set in concrete and 2x4s as cross members.  Other than the obvious problem of not being able to relocate easily, would there be another issue I am not aware of?

I do know that they have to be at least 18" above ground, skunks abound here, but  are bear free.
The jasmine was blooming and the bees looked as though they were stitching flowers together with invisible silken thread.  Pat Conroy  Beach Music

Offline Billy B

• New Bee
    • Billy B's Bees
Re: Stands for hives
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2014, 11:55:29 am »
Not a problem with it being permanent ... other than, well, it's permanent.    If you are sure about the location, sure, why not?

For the cross members, I prefer to use 2x6.  But this is dependent upon spans as well (mine are 8') ... 2x4 will be fine for short spans.

Another useful recommendation, space the beams so that a frame will fit between ... instant frame rest between your hives.

Here is a picture of one of my stands where you can more or less see the construction and see a hanging frame:

This one was too tall, but otherwise served me well.

Offline mikecva

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2014, 01:20:26 pm »
I had a set up like Billy B's but I had problems with the deer bumping them. I solved that by putting the cross members (also 2x6s) closer so that there was 4" overhang in the front and back.