Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: unlimited brood nest questions  (Read 2383 times)

Offline Patrick

• House Bee
unlimited brood nest questions
« on: March 30, 2009, 04:22:38 pm »
Hi,
I am a student of the unlimited brood nest method and have been using it for the past two years or so.  This year things are a bit different in my hives and I have a few, hopefully not too stupid questions.  I am using 2 deeps as brood and mediums for honey supers, no excluder. (I know this would all be better if I was using only mediums but I am not). In the past there has always been 2 or three frames in the second deep of honey in the 1,2 or 9, 10 spots that I have been able to pull and replace with empty frames.  This year in all of my hives, not the case, I have wall-to-wall brood in both the first and second deep.  One hive had a small cluster of drone just barely starting in the honey super, so the queen might be moving up there.

My question is what is move best move here, add a third deep and pyramid up with a few frames of brood from the second deeps or hope the queen moves up into the mediums? I don’t have any deep frames of honey or comb left so it would have to be foundation and the brood. 

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Cheers,
Patrick

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: unlimited brood nest questions
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 09:34:25 pm »
You can either add another deep and pyramid up, or put an empty box above the two boxes of brood and see if they expand up, or do a split.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden