Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Honey Bound September in the Midwest  (Read 3870 times)

Offline joeeagle66

• New Bee
Honey Bound September in the Midwest
« on: September 01, 2010, 06:18:18 pm »
I have two hives that have done quite well.  I recently added Api Var Life to treat for mites.  I am in my second application.  I inspected the hives this last time before adding the AVL and found that the two brood supers in both hives are chocked full of honey.  They have drawn out all the comb on all the frames and there is very little space left for anything.  Should I add a super?  Should I move full frames to a weaker hive to make room for more brood?  There seem to be plenty of bees at the moment, very few drones, so it seems to be healthy right now.  I just want to make sure I can get them through the winter with good workers.  I'm new at this so I've never had this problem (?) before.  I'd appreciate some guidance.  Thanks for any help, Joe

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
Re: Honey Bound September in the Midwest
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2010, 09:47:27 pm »
What's your location?  You can't take honey when treating for mites.You should have put honey supers on sooner and then harvested.  Do you have spare empty drawn out frames available?

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2010, 10:00:40 pm »
Depending on your location...this could be an excellent time of year to treat for mites but what led you to do so? Did you do a drop count or are you treating just to treat? There are very few mite treatments that may be done with honey on the hives (if you want it for yourself). Make sure to follow label directions.

Scott