Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Reaction to bee sting, again.  (Read 1698 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Reaction to bee sting, again.
« on: June 25, 2019, 07:33:02 pm »
Been stung all my life, over half century.  Suddenly in 2017 I react violently to honey bee sting.  By 2018, back to normal, bee stings are not noticeable in 30 minutes.

Then 2019, several stings and all is well in 30 minutes.  Just last week stung on finger and no reaction.

Yesterday received honeybee sting on forearm and see the pic for yourself:

I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: Reaction to bee sting, again.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2019, 07:38:10 pm »

I have no idea why I suddenly react,  the swelling got worse than pictured after a few more hours.  I took 2 prednisone yesterday and 2 today.  The swelling is much much less.

However, in minutes, I have to go into a hiveto release a queen and check on queen castle.  This will be fun. Lol
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2019, 07:44:30 pm »

Offline ed/La.

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2019, 08:21:15 pm »
That looks bad. Perhaps suit up until something changes. If you have insurance get an epipen just in case. They are $125 for two I think. Keep us informed. Hopefully you find a solution.

Offline FloridaGardener

• Field Bee
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2019, 08:28:16 pm »
A GMO Bee stung you, Van!  :shocked: