Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbie question - strange problems with hive, no queen?  (Read 1560 times)

Offline thevoice

• New Bee
Newbie question - strange problems with hive, no queen?
« on: December 23, 2008, 08:54:10 pm »
I'm very new to beekeeping and I've got a couple of questions about my hive.

I got a hive from a new swarm a few months ago in early spring (I'm in Australia, we've just hit summer.) and it grew rapidly for about a month.  At that point I put another box of frames on top of the old one and have seen next to no growth since.  There does appear to be a decent amount of brood, but much of it appears to be producing drones (larger cells all through the brood).  The last couple of times I have opened the box there have been very few bees in the top box, perhaps only 20.  I'm still a bit hazy on what bee is what but I think there are few workers in the hive.

I would have thought that this time of year is very productive for bees, but perhaps I'm wrong.

Any advice on whether to worry or not would be appreciated.

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
Re: Newbie question - strange problems with hive, no queen?
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2008, 09:47:29 pm »
Its not uncommon to get an older failing queen with a swarm or even a young queen that's just a dud, you just never know with swarms. Overall, I've had mostly good luck with swarms but some don't pan out.

Its a good idea to keep a watchful eye on colonies that started with a swarm. If they aren't really gettin' at it, I would re queen, but consider first whether  resources are good in your area that could also have a bearing on colony growth.

...JP
My Youtube page is titled JPthebeeman with hundreds of educational & entertaining videos.

My website JPthebeeman.com http://jpthebeeman.com

Offline thevoice

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2008, 10:10:12 pm »
Cheers, thanks for the reply.