Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Caulking inside corners of a hive?  (Read 5613 times)

Offline Dustin Large

• New Bee
Caulking inside corners of a hive?
« on: April 26, 2016, 04:42:35 pm »
I am new to beekeeping and have found answers to pretty much all my questions through searching the forums, YouTube, or Google.  But there is one question I haven?t found the answer to.  I want to caulk or seal the inside corners of my hive boxes but I can?t find what would be the safest product to use since this is inside the hive.  I won?t be painting the boxes, it?s only those inside corners I?m concerned with.  What do you think would be a safe product to use in this application?

Offline Psparr

• Field Bee
Re: Caulking inside corners of a hive?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 05:17:49 pm »
Propolis, and let the bees do it for you.

Offline Dustin Large

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2016, 10:23:32 pm »
I have yet to see bees seal up corners effectively enough to prevent hive beetles from hiding in them.  Which is why I'm looking for a caulk or sealant that is safe to use.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Offline Psparr

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2016, 11:04:45 pm »
Was just playing around. Curious though why there are gaps in the corners?

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2016, 11:57:34 pm »
Epoxy. Most caulk on the market will be eaten by the bees. They are soft.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline Dustin Large

• New Bee
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2016, 12:03:53 am »
Gaps from the crap hive body kits sold by Kelly Bees and another big name.  I make everything myself now to help prevent it but don't want to toss out what I had before. 

Offline Dustin Large

• New Bee
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2016, 12:06:00 am »