Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Feeding sugar cakes of sugar patties.  (Read 1903 times)

Online Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
Feeding sugar cakes of sugar patties.
« on: November 02, 2018, 12:25:04 am »
This is my first year. This will be my first time feeding sugar patties (cakes). There are several ways and methods of doing this and Im sure that I have not discovered them all. I understand that they are a good form of Insurance to make sure that the bees have plenty of food source through the cold winter months. I have also heard and read that they help absorb condensation. I can understand how this will be, but as far as details, I don't know what to expect.  I will ask you, once the patties are made and set up in the hive,  the condensation will draw into them.  Now, during the upcoming nights and days, do the patties continuously draw moisture, dry out, draw moister, dry out ? Or do they draw moisture until finally completely soaked and stay soaked for the rest of winter or until consumed? Of course, if the hive is set up correctly with the proper ventilation, and top, the condensation at the top of the hive should be at a minimum. But again, will it build up in the sugar patties?
Thanks, Phillip Hall
2 Chronicles 7:14
14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

Offline cao

• Super Bee
Re: Feeding sugar cakes of sugar patties.
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2018, 01:16:21 am »