Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Fever From Bee Stings  (Read 3376 times)

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Traveler of the Multiverse, Seeker of Knowledge
Fever From Bee Stings
« on: June 23, 2018, 11:49:54 pm »
For the first time I got stung while working the hive today, once in the thumb and once in the middle finger, both on my right hand.  It swelled up like they normally do on me.  Tonight I was sitting watching TV and I started to feel sort of sick, so I checked my temperature and I have a 100 degree fever!  After doing some research, I read that fever is a symptom of a toxic reaction, i.e. it's normal after a person has received a dozen stings or more.  I was only stung twice.  What are your thoughts on this? 
I come from under the hill, and under the hills and over the hills my paths led.  And through the air, I am she that walks unseen.

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Fever From Bee Stings
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2018, 12:47:48 am »
Member,
Did you scrape the stingers off right away or did it take a while before you were able to remove them?
Another factor could be that you squeezed venom in when you tried to remove the stingers.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline The15thMember

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2018, 01:15:11 am »
Member,
Did you scrape the stingers off right away or did it take a while before you were able to remove them?
Another factor could be that you squeezed venom in when you tried to remove the stingers.
Jim