Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Swarm moved in!  (Read 1473 times)

Offline SoManyCats

• New Bee
Swarm moved in!
« on: March 24, 2018, 10:49:46 am »
warning: I'm a total noob.  I've had one hive and lost it.  I put out an empty hive body and a single frame of old comb on Tuesday.  Yesterday I had a swarm move into it.  (I've had 4 traps out for about 6 weeks with just little nibbles, but this one was a 3 day catch.)

This is a deep body with only a single drawn frame and 2 empty frames on each side.  It is mostly open space.  I know a swarm draws comb fast and I don't want them to make a huge mess inside.  But I also don't want to scare them off by going in too fast.  What's the wisdom on how long to wait before going in and adding frames?

I have not seen pollen coming in yet.  But it mostly looks like normal activity.  There was a tiny bit of honey at the top of the frame in there... yet this does not look like a frenzy of robbing bees.  I see guard bees sitting at the door and what appears to be normal coming and going.

Offline paus

• Field Bee
Re: Swarm moved in!
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 12:16:02 pm »
Sounds like you have swarm.  What are you using for attractant?  I HAVE LEARNED THAT IT ONLY TAKES A LITTLE BIT of LGO to work, too much does not.  If possible get frames in with as little disturbance as possible.  As I have said before  "Everything is right and everything is wrong".  I have a friend about 70 miles NE from you that takes the swarm out as soon as he can,  last year he caught 3 swarms in one trap in one day.  Get in touch with the Bee club in Tyler.

Offline Bush_84

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2018, 12:42:22 pm »
I would also do whatever it is you plan on doing now. Not that I?ve caught a ton of swarms either.
Keeping bees since 2011.

Also please excuse the typos.  My iPad autocorrect can be brutal.

Offline SoManyCats

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2018, 02:36:47 pm »