Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Clearer Boards  (Read 3977 times)

Offline PhilK

• House Bee
Clearer Boards
« on: March 08, 2016, 07:34:26 pm »
So far when we have been extracting, we have pulled honey frames individually and shaken/brushed the bees off. It hasn't been too bad but it's a touch on the tedious side and puts a lot of bees in the air, so we are thinking about getting and using clearer/escape boards. After some pros/cons? I have heard SHB can be a worry when using clearer boards because the honey super is left unprotected by bees. The beetle still have to get up through the whole colony before getting to the super so how much of a worry is this really?

Also, when using one do you put an empty super with frames below the clearer board to give the bees from the super space to move into?

Cheers

Offline Colobee

• House Bee
Re: Clearer Boards
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2016, 09:51:01 pm »
I've been using triangle escape boards for ~20 years, and love them. They will usually clear 2-3 medium supers overnight. There often isn't a single bee left after one cool night. Once in a while they won't abandon a patch of brood ( or the queen!). They wouldn't be as practical for an out yard - requiring 2 trips in two days. And yes - a strong hive might need an empty super below. I find my "3 mediums for overwintering" is usually enough and don't give them an empty. I keep a close eye on the hives when they are on - the least little crack will incite a robbing riot when the guards are gone.
The bees usually fix my mistakes

Offline mikecva

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2016, 12:46:32 pm »
I have been using fume boards for many years (it is a lot better then smoke which I never use now when gathering honey) A word of caution, do not try to speed things up by using more juice then suggested. It will drive the bees out of the hive and into the air. Using the correct amount will clear a super in about 5 minutes (sometimes two supers.)  -Mike