Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Observations and questions regarding a hived cutout/swarm  (Read 2556 times)

Offline dean0

• House Bee
    • My photovoltaic Website
Observations and questions regarding a hived cutout/swarm
« on: March 06, 2011, 10:51:00 am »
A little background info first. This is my first year as a beek.  I wasn't expecting bees until the end of March when out of the blue Hardwood called me on Wednesday and said he had a swarm that had taken up residence inside of a speaker box and wanted to know if I was interested. (Like he needed to ask) Heck yes I was interested.  He did warn me that swarms can be tricky to hold on to at times as it is but with the cut out end of it it might be even trickier, but then again, it might be a piece of cake; I didn't care, I wanted bees. I picked up the bees Thursday evening, transported them home and immediately placed the speaker on the bottom board that they will be using.  I was amazed that after being transported from one location on Thursday that the bees were already bringing in pollen on Friday...amazing.  Friday afternoon I carefully removed the woofer and got my first look at the comb and the bees...I was very nervous but I was suited up and I have seen several videos of you guys doing this sort thing all the time without any protection, so I relaxed...a little.  Being that this is a swarm, I decided to use a queen excluder as an included.  I lifted the speaker and and then gave a speaker a hard jolt on the ground to knock the bees off the comb. I dumped as many bees as I could into my deep and repeated the process 3 more times until there were only 20-30 bees remaining in the speaker.  I was able to salvage 2 decent size pieces of comb from inside the speaker.  Thanks to this informative website, I placed those 2 pieces of comb to a frame using several rubber bands.  I placed that frame in the middle of my deep box. I wasn't sure what to do with comb that was too small to attach to a frame, so I just laid