Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How brave are your kids?  (Read 4132 times)

Offline thomashton

• House Bee
How brave are your kids?
« on: May 21, 2008, 01:01:22 am »
Some kids won't go near bees, spiders, or anything else that crawls, scurrys, or slithers. As a wildlife biologist I find it really disheartening to see so much bio-phobia due to kids growing up in suburbs without outdoor opportunities.

Here are my 2 and 7 year olds. Makes me proud.

After 18 months of reading and preparation, my girls finally arrived on April 11th (2006)!

Offline pdmattox

• Queen Bee
    • October bend Rv Park
Re: How brave are your kids?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008, 01:10:04 am »
that's a great picture, here are a couple of mine. I love the fact that I am teaching my kids how to feed themselves.

Offline the kid

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2008, 01:27:54 am »
that looks just like my grand kids ,, there right in the hives,  they put syrup on there fingers then put the fingers in the hive so the bees can get on there finger ,,, then watch them suck up the syrup ...   they call it hand feeding the bees ....   
for some reason I cant post or email pics ....
the kid

Offline Scadsobees

• Galactic Bee
  • Best use of smileys in a post award.
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2008, 10:36:46 am »
that's a great picture, here are a couple of mine. I love the fact that I am teaching my kids how to feed themselves.

Boy, I hope so, he looks like he's at least 7 years old!  Mine could feed themselves by age 3!! :-D

Those are cute, curious kids!  Just wait till you get drones?  Mine have spent hours by the hives catching the drones.  Tie a thread to a drone's leg and you have a remote control helicopter :).