Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: A special Queen Bee.  (Read 1545 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
A special Queen Bee.
« on: September 04, 2019, 05:01:05 pm »
The queen is everything as all bees are generated from this one single bee.  About 8 years ago, 2011, I decided to raise my own queens.  Took me 4 years of breeding  to develop Alpha, my Precious breeder queen.  Unlike any queen I have ever witnessed, a gentle laying phenomenon.  Alpha is 3.5 years of age this date.  Alpha has given me many Cordovan queens which I cross with Cordovans from the Latshaw genetics.  Joe Latshaw is a PhD level bee geneticist.  I give away these queens, as a hobbyist, I never sell.

This year, Alpha gave me a special queen.  A Cordovan queen that hatched, mated and was laying in 4 FOUR days.  As most of you know, a virgin queen needs on average 4-7 days to mature, then goes on a mating flight so most beeks use 2 weeks as a rule from hatch to laying.  Four days is incredible from hatch to laying.  Indeed this is a special queen and I am looking forward to see what this new queen can produce.

This queen laying in 4 days of hatch is named Thelma Lou, named in part by BenFramed, Phil.  So, next year, don?t be surprised if this old man is raving about a Cordovan queen bee named Thelma Lou.  Just be patient with me as I am proud of my queens.  And thanks for reading, letting me share my excitement.  I just got a feeling Thelma Lou is going to be a high productive queen.

Blessings
Van
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Re: A special Queen Bee.
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2019, 05:55:04 pm »