Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 3 hives dead  (Read 3271 times)

Offline beegees

• New Bee
3 hives dead
« on: February 05, 2017, 12:25:10 am »
This is my first year beekeeping,  and had 3 total hives all strong, im not sure why they all died. Im thinking condensation abd then froze. It got into single digits for a few days but they should have been ok for that temp. Here is what i did, built 6 inch box for top of deeps had 1 inch board between deeps and 6 inch i built for sugar cakes. 6 inch box above sugar cakes had screen, burlap, and about 3 inches of pine pet bedding shavings, and above shavings i had 1 inch hole on all sides in middle of wood withscreen covering holes then telescoping lid. If anyone can give me an ideas what may of happened or what i may have done wrong, I appreciate any comments. Thanks. p.s. im in utah.

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
Re: 3 hives dead
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2017, 09:21:19 am »
What is the 1 in board between deeps mean?
Brian Cardinal
Just do it

Offline BobMac

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2017, 09:50:04 am »
1" board /1" shim between brood box and quilt box maybe what he means ace ??

Offline beegees

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2017, 01:27:35 pm »
Yes, 1 inch shim board, room for sugar cake on top of frames

Offline beegees

• New Bee
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2017, 01:29:51 pm »
Sorry, not between deeps, on to of top deep.

Offline Acebird

• Galactic Bee
  • Just do it
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2017, 02:45:27 pm »
That is better ...
You are going to have to look for a cause.  Most will suspect mites.  I don't always think that is so but you have to look for symptoms or evidence that would suggest mites.  Starvation is another biggy and certainly AFB is something you want to rule out.  Moisture and freezing is a little harder to see as a cause of death if they have been dead a long time.
Brian Cardinal
Just do it

Offline little john

• Super Bee