Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Pic: robbing vrs the norm.  (Read 986 times)

Offline van from Arkansas

• Super Bee
  • Van from Arkansas.
Pic: robbing vrs the norm.
« on: February 02, 2020, 07:21:01 pm »

Not the best pic, I apologize,  but hoping to convey the subject matter.

Total 6 hives in the pic, one is a dead out being robbed.  The bees at the seam where the hive bodies meet is a clear give away. The violet, soft purple  and yellow nuc, far right, has bees at the seam between the hive bodies.  These bees are robbers trying to find a back door.  There is a frenzy of activity on the entrance by the robbers  also, more activities than the other hives.

Health to your bees.

Van
I have been around bees a long time, since birth.  I am a hobbyist so my answers often reflect this fact.  I concentrate on genetics, raise my own queens by wet graft, nicot, with natural or II breeding.  I do not sell queens, I will give queens  for free but no shipping.

Offline Ben Framed

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
  • Mississippi Zone 7
Re: Pic: robbing vrs the norm.
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 09:46:24 pm »

Not the best pic, I apologize,  but hoping to convey the subject matter.

Total 6 hives in the pic, one is a dead out being robbed.  The bees at the seam where the hive bodies meet is a clear give away. The violet, soft purple  and yellow nuc, far right, has bees at the seam between the hive bodies.  These bees are robbers trying to find a back door.  There is a frenzy of activity on the entrance by the robbers  also, more activities than the other hives.

Health to your bees.

Van