BEEKEEPING LEARNING CENTER > REQUEENING & RAISING NEW QUEENS

To exclude queen or not in super??

(1/2) > >>

monkeyfish:
Greetings,

This is my first year and all appears to be going well. <2 deeps w/brood/honey/pollen - 1 super>
I put the super on after I saw the 2nd deep mostly full and now a month later they have not drawn any comb in it yet.

My questions:

Is this normal for first year activity?
Should I remove the queen exluder even at the risk of brood laying up there?

Thanks for your suggestions!

~Scott

BigRog:
Great AV
Lurch get that man a drink!

Robo:
Loose the excluder.  The bees will not go thru an excluder unless it is drawn comb, or there is brood there.  

Unless your making comb honey,  I would advise not using a queen excluder (also known as a honey excluder).  

Since this is your first year, I would advise NOT trying comb honey until you get some experience under your belt.

Anonymous:
There are plenty of bees hanging out among the <combless> frames, just not building anything I guess. I did take out the excluder and we'll see what happens.

I'm guessing that the low rainfall this summer is also a factor? I should probably be feeding them to compensate for this?

Regards,
~Scott

Kris^: