Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Will bees build comb in supers without having foundation .  (Read 3569 times)

Offline thomast55

• New Bee
Will bees build comb in supers without having foundation .
« on: February 18, 2008, 02:27:00 pm »
Like I said I am new to this and will be asking alot of stupid questions . Will bees build comb in supers that dont have sheeets of foundation in them ?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Will bees build comb in supers without having foundation .
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 02:45:12 pm »
Yes they will, but without proper guides and keeping a watchful eye,  you can easily end up with a mess.  Especially in honey supers where they will overdrawn the comb into the adjacent frame space.  The safest way to get natural comb is to insert an empty frame between 2 drawn out frames in the brood chamber.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline babathemba

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 03:22:27 pm »
What has worked for me is to put 10 top bars in a honey super, each of which has about 1/2" of foundation attached to it (instead of a full sheet.)  This gives the bees a starting point and they build the comb downwards from there.

Offline hardtime

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2008, 08:14:37 pm »
well i been thinking on this to. in my supper this year 10 top bars i put one full sheet then haft then full then haft. to see witch one thay fill up first.i want things fast .
your frend   hardtime

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2008, 08:21:23 pm »
i want things fast .

Then your best bet is to buy permacomb or Honey Super Cell.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator