Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Incessant Robbing Situation by "Terminator" bees.  (Read 1496 times)

Offline 2Sox

• House Bee
Incessant Robbing Situation by "Terminator" bees.
« on: June 18, 2017, 12:00:10 pm »
What's going on my my back yard is nuts!  I've got 5 hives, and I've needed to keep robbing screens on each of them for the past 5 days.  It does not let up!  Whether feral or cultivated, there is some parasitic hive or hives in my area that are like Terminators! They don't stop - sunrise to sunset.  I can't even get to my hives to inspect them. This is particularly crazy because the Linden is in bloom and we have high pollen alerts for the past week or so. I've been keeping bees for 10 years and I've never seen anything like this. Last year the same thing happened but not for long.  I didn't have robbing screens and my two hives were wiped out. I'm thinking these robbers have an heavy African gene influence.  Whatever the case, this has got to stop.  If anyone can help me with a solution, I'm all ears.
"Good will is the desire to have something else stronger and more beautiful for this desire makes oneself stronger and more beautiful." - Eli Siegel, American educator, poet, founder of Aesthetic Realism

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Incessant Robbing Situation by "Terminator" bees.
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 12:12:02 pm »
Are the robbing screens working?
I have serious robbing when I try to remove honey after the flows have stopped. As soon as the robbing starts, I close up the hive and turn on sprinklers, placed on top of the highest central hive, that sprays water in all directions at the same time. Rain birds don't work. That stops the robbing until i start opening hives again.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline Vicken

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 12:34:22 pm »